Art. Culture. Life.

LQAF Grants $30,000 in Scholarship Awards

LQAF Blog | LQAF News | Press Releases | Scholarships 0 Comment

Determined to continue its legacy, particularly during the economic downturn, La Quinta Arts Foundation (LQAF) has awarded $30,000 to 24 talented art majors to attend college during the 2009/10 academic year. This amount includes $8,000 Ryan Ramirez Memorial Scholarship funding, plus Melville Keever and David Marks Memorial Funds. Since it was instituted in 1984, La Quinta Arts Foundation’s scholarship program has committed a total of $877,302 to students pursuing college degrees in the visual arts. 

View Student’s Art Work


Diana Childers – Cal State University, San Bernardino
Amanda Emmett – College of the Desert
Tristan Esmino – College of the Desert
Julie Frenznick – Cal State University, San Bernardino
Erin Hoy – University of California, San Diego
Eryn Leja – Chapman University
Carli McCasland – College of the Desert
Robert Medina – College of the Desert
Maxwell Weiner – University of Washington
Sarah Williams – San Diego State University

Justin Abercrombie – San Diego State University
Maja Jerik – University of Oregon
Tiffany Kantor – Art Institute California, Hollywood
Lina Kao – College of the Desert
Allyssa Madison – College of the Desert
Sydney Marguleas – TBD
Jessica May – University of Redlands
Leah Oakes – Cal State Northridge
Jovani Olivares – California Institute of The Arts
Gardenia Ramirez – Cal State Fullerton
Mikaela Rosvall – College of the Desert
Paloma Santillanes – College of the Desert
Jessica Smith – College of the Desert
Jaime Villaneuva – College of the Desert

In keeping with LQAF’s mission of “Promoting and Cultivating the Arts,” annual scholarship awards are made possible with proceeds garnered from LQAF public art events including La Quinta Arts Festival,  Art Under the Umbrellas, Blues, Brews & BBQ, and La Quinta Arts Foundation memberships—as well as contributions by community partners and other memorial contributions. 

Scholarship applications and art portfolios are submitted online beginning in February, and reviewed by a scholarship committee in April. Scholarship 2009/10 Committee Members are:  Hovak Najarian, Doctorate Fine Arts, Professor Emeritus, College of the Desert; Deborah Schwartz, Public Art Coordinator, City of Palm Desert; Mike Polk, retired art teacher and LQAF docent; and Roy & Debbie Ramirez, trustees, Ryan Ramirez Memorial Fund.