Art. Culture. Life.

LQAF Awards $48,000 in Visual Art Scholarships

LQAF Blog | LQAF News | Press Releases | Scholarships 0 Comment

In a continuing commitment to creative Coachella Valley students, La Quinta Arts Foundation has increased the total visual art scholarship awards by $8,000 this year, awarding $48,000 to 24 art majors to attend college during the 2017/18 academic year. This amount includes $7,000 from the Ryan Ramirez Memorial Fund as well as memorial donations in the names of Nancy and David Marks and Melville Keever.  LQAF is also honored to pay tribute to the memory of Robert Blum, awarding an additional scholarship in his name.  

This brings the grand total of LQAF’s scholarship awards to $1.278 million to students pursuing college degrees in the visual arts since the program was instituted in 1984.

LQAF Congratulates the following 2017/18 Scholarship Winners:  

New Scholarship Recipients (13):
Lauren Cedar, La Quinta, Biola University (Xavier College Prep HS), Illustration/Graphic Design
Rio Bella Chacon, Palm Springs, CSU Fullerton (Cathedral City HS), Film
Aaron De Jesus Mendieta, Palm Desert, COD (Horizon School), Concept Art/Media Design
Christopher Espejo, Palm Desert, U of West Florida (Xavier College Prep HS), Digital Arts
Alexa Gomez, Indio, Cal Poly Pomona (La Quinta HS), Architecture
Johnie Harrell, La Quinta, CSUSB, (La Quinta HS), Graphic Design          
Riley Huebner, La Quinta, Cal Poly (La Quinta HS), Photography
Landon Johnson, Desert Hot Springs, Laguna College of Art & Design (n/a), Fine Art
Elisha Kolp, Cathedral City, COD (n/a), Studio Arts/Digital Media
Jasmine Osorio, Palm Springs, Cal State Fullerton (Palm Springs HS), Animation
Montserrat Rodriguez, Indio, COD, (La Quinta HS), Studio Art
Miranda Thoene, La Quinta, San Francisco State University, (La Quinta HS), Studio Art
Abel Venegas , Coachella, COD, (Coachella Valley HS), Studio Art

Returning Scholarship Recipients (11):
Kaho Akiya, La Quinta, CSU Long Beach, (Palm Desert HS), Studio Art/Illustration
Taelynn Dalle, Palm Desert, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, (Xavier College Prep HS), Architecture
David Gonzalez Silva, Cathedral City, UC Riverside, (Cathedral City HS), Studio Arts
Katarina Hahn, La Quinta, CSU San Marcos, (Palm Desert HS), Visual Art
Jake Hill, Rancho Mirage, San Francisco State University, (Xavier College Prep HS), Cinema
Laura Juarez-Sanchez, La Quinta, Cal Poly Pomona, (La Quinta HS), Graphic Design
Evelyn Olvera, Desert Hot Springs, CSU Long Beach, (Desert Hot Springs HS) Art Education
Yrene Ramirez, Palm Springs, Otis College of Art & Design, (Xavier College Prep HS), Graphic Design
Micah Ramos, Palm Desert, CSU San Marcos, (Xavier College Prep HS), Visual Art
Karla Roman-Wong, Palm Springs, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, (Palm Springs HS), Architecture
Colby Tarsitano, Indio, New York University, (La Quinta High School), Photography


In keeping with LQAF’s mission of “Promoting and Cultivating the Arts,” annual scholarship awards are made possible with proceeds garnered from LQAF public art events including La Quinta Arts Festival, (ranked #1 in the nation 2013, 2014, 2015), plus La Quinta Arts Foundation memberships and contributions by sponsors, community partners and memorial contributions.  Scholarship applications are available each year in February. LQAF scholarship recipients are eligible to receive funding for up to five years.