Art. Culture. Life.

2012/2013 Scholarship Winners

LQAF Blog | LQAF News | Scholarships 1 Comment


As a result of a successful season of activities including the 30th La Quinta Arts Festival, La Quinta Arts Foundation (LQAF) has awarded $40,000 to 29 talented art majors to attend college during the 2012/13 academic year. This amount includes $7,000 from the Ryan Ramirez Memorial Scholarship Fund and $2,500 in the name of Nancy and David Marks.

Since it was instituted in 1984, LQAF’s scholarship program has awarded a total of $1,040,000 to students pursuing college degrees in the visual arts.

LQAF Congratulates the following 2012/13 Scholarship Winners:  (See a gallery of student winner’s work below)

Returning Scholarship Recipients

Tatiana Barbuzza – College of the Desert
Cristian Cabrera – College of the Desert
Alessandro Cinelli – Cal State San Bernardino
Alicia Ann Crawford – Art Institute of California Inland Empire
Amanda Emmett – California State University San Bernardino
Sofia Enriquez – Otis
Zayra Favares – College of the Desert
Tiffany Kantor – Art Institute of California Hollywood
Kyra Key – California State University Northridge
Salle Kirby – College of the Desert
Jessica May – University of Redlands
Sarah Murphy – Indiana University
Brittany North – University of California Riverside
Leah Oakes – California State University Northridge
Brittney Passmore – Savannah College of Art & Design
Virginia Santillanes – College of the Desert
Jodi Schwausch – California State University Fullerton
Elizabeth Talbot – California State University Long Beach
Eduardo Valadez Arenas – California College of the Arts
Roberto Velazquez – Marymount

First Time Scholarship Recipients

Ashley Hapner – Loyola (Palm Springs High School)
Carina LaViolette – Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising (Palm Springs High School)
Ashton Morgan – College of the Desert (La Quinta High School)
Alex Perez – Cal Poly San Luis Obispo (College of the Desert)
Alexander Quenault – Orange Coast College (Desert Hot Springs High School)
Karla Roman Wong – College of the Desert 
Cristina Ruiz – California State University San Bernardino (Coachella High School)
Sarah Jane Sawdey – Pt. Loma Nazarene University (Desert Christian High School)
Ariadna Vazquez – California State University Long Beach (College of the Desert)

In keeping with LQAF’s mission of “Promoting and Cultivating the Arts,” annual scholarship awards are made possible with proceeds garnered from LQAF public art events including La Quinta Arts Festival,  Art Under the Umbrellas, La Quinta Blues & Brews, and La Quinta Arts Foundation memberships—as well as contributions by community partners and memorial contributions. 

2012/2013 Scholarship Student Gallery


Sandra Marlowe
May 25, 2012, 1:39 pm

Terrific work!! And great potential. Nice to see that creativity and the arts are alive and flourishing in our youth. Thanks for sharing!