Art. Culture. Life.

2011/2012 Scholarship Winners

LQAF Blog | LQAF News | Scholarships 1 Comment


In conjunction with our 30th Anniversary in 2012, La Quinta Arts Foundation is proud to announce we  have awarded $89,500 to 38 talented art majors to attend college during the 2011/12 academic year. This amount includes $8,000 from the Ryan Ramirez Memorial Trust.

Since it was instituted in 1984, La Quinta Arts Foundation’s scholarship program has committed a total of
$1 MILLION DOLLARS to students pursuing college degrees in the visual arts.

LQAF Congratulates the following 2011/12 Scholarship Winners.   SEE WINNER’S ARTWORK! (click here)

Brenda Beets-Brown-College of the Desert
Cristian Cabrera – College of the Desert
Alicia Crawford – Art Institute CA, Inland Empire
Amanda Emmett – Cal State, San Bernardino
Sofia Enriquez- Otis
Clayton Fessier – Cal Institute of the Arts
Ruby Flores – Cal State University, Los Angeles
Tiffany Kantor – Art Institute of California
Sydney Marguleas – Boston University
Jessica May – University of Redlands
Sarah Murphy – Indiana University
Leah Oakes – Cal State University, Northridge
Brittney Passmore – College of the Desert
Virginia Santillanes – College of the Desert
Roberto Velzaquez – Marymount College 

Tatiana Barbuzza– College of the Desert
Ariana Bindman – College of the Desert
Josiah Bolth- Maryland Institute College of Art
Eduardo Caldera-Leon – Cal State University, San Bernardino
Asia Chamberlain – Woodbury University
Alessandro Cinelli – College of the Desert
Calli DeSanto – UC, Irvine
Angel Estrada – Santa Fe University of Art & Design
Zayra Favares – College of the Desert
Kyra Key – Cal State University, Northridge
Salle Kirby – College of the Desert
Sabrina Martinez – Rio Hondo Community College
Angelica Martinez – Cal State University, San Bernardino
Jazmin Mennicken – Fashion Institute of Design Merchandising
Brittany North – Collge of the Desert
Lauren Panawa – University of California, Los Angeles
Karson Pellum – Cal State University, San Bernardino
Jodi Schwausch – Cal State University, Fullerton
Christina Solitaria – University of San Francisco
Elizabeth Talbot – Cal State University, Long Beach
Eduardo Valadez – California College of the Arts
Maria Valenzuela – Sonoma State University
Presley Young – Fashion Institute fo Design Merchandising

In keeping with La Quinta Arts Foundation’s mission of “Promoting and Cultivating the Arts,” annual scholarship awards are made possible with proceeds garnered from LQAF public art events including La Quinta Arts Festival,  Art Under the Umbrellas, La Quinta Blues and Brews, and La Quinta Arts Foundation memberships—as well as contributions by community partners and memorial contributions.

Scholarship applications and art portfolios are submitted through LQAF’s website in February, and reviewed by a scholarship committee in April with awards announced in May each year.   

LQAF thanks and acknowledges the  2011/12 Scholarship Committee Members:  
    John Hansen retired art teacher and professional artist
    Hovak Najarian, PhD. Fine Arts, Professor Emeritus, College of the Desert 
    Deborah Schwartz, MFA, Public Art Coordinator, City of Palm Desert  
    Roy & Debbie Ramirez, trustees, Ryan Ramirez Memorial Fund.


Eduardo Caldera
January 12, 2012, 1:48 am

I just want to have this chance to thank all of you for this scholarship. This was truly one of the best things to ever happen to me and I am very grateful for this rare chance. With this scholarship I was able to afford most of my college expenses and helped me buy my material for my art classes, which by the way is pretty expensive, hahaha. I know its a very late response but it never late to thank you, a so yes, thank you La Quinta Arts Foundation and everyone that was in this!