Art. Culture. Life.

2010/11 Scholarship Winners

LQAF Blog | LQAF News | Scholarships 0 Comment

LQAF 2010 Visual Arts Scholarships

As a result of a very successful season of activities including the 28th La Quinta Arts Festival, La Quinta Arts Foundation (LQAF) has awarded $31,500 to 25 talented art majors to attend college during the 2010/11 academic year. This amount includes $8,000 from the Ryan Ramirez Memorial Scholarship Fund.

An additional award of $1,000 was granted to a former LQAF scholarship recipient and graduate of Palm Desert High School and Rhode Island School of Design, Erika Walters.  Walters is currently working toward a Master of Fine Arts degree in Production Design at the American Film Institute.  The funds will be used to produce Walter’s thesis film.

Since it was instituted in 1984, La Quinta Arts Foundation’s scholarship program has committed a total of $910,502 to students pursuing college degrees in the visual arts.

LQAF Congratulates the following 2010/11 Scholarship Winners.   SEE WINNER’S ARTWORK! (click here)

Amanda Emmett – College of the Desert
Tristan Esmino – Fashion Institute Design & Merchandising
Tiffany Kantor – Art Institute California, Hollywood
Jessica May – University of Redlands
Leah Oakes – Cal State, Northridge
Jovani Olivares – California Institute of the Arts
Mikaela Rosvall – New School of Architecture & Design
Natalie Thornton – Boston College
Alyssa Velasquez – Fashion Institute Design & Merchandising
Maxwell Weiner – University of Washington
Sarah Williams – San Diego State University

Brenda Beets-Brown – College of the Desert
Cristian Cabrera – College of the Desert
Alicia Crawford – Art Institute, Inland Empire
Sofia Enriquez – Otis
Ruby Flores – Cal State, Los Angeles
Yehsiming Jue – College of the Desert
Jose Murillo – College of the Desert
Sarah Murphy – Indiana University
Brittney Passmore – College of the Desert
Jelena Potic – College of the Desert
Virginia Santillanes – College of the Desert
Enrique Silva – Westwood College
Agus Tio – College of the Desert
Roberto Velasquez – Marymount College

In keeping with La Quinta Arts Foundation’s mission of “Promoting and Cultivating the Arts,” annual scholarship awards are made possible with proceeds garnered from LQAF public art events including La Quinta Arts Festival,  Art Under the Umbrellas, La Quinta Blues and Brews, and La Quinta Arts Foundation memberships—as well as contributions by community partners and memorial contributions.

Scholarship applications and art portfolios are submitted online beginning in February, and reviewed by a scholarship committee in April. Scholarship 2010/11 Committee Members are:  Hovak Najarian, PhD. Fine Arts, Professor Emeritus, College of the Desert; Deborah Schwartz, Public Art Coordinator, City of Palm Desert;  John Hansen retired art teacher and professional artist; and Roy & Debbie Ramirez, trustees, Ryan Ramirez Memorial Fund.